Follow Us

02 9816 2041

Curriculum Offerings

Marist Sisters’ College students are consistently given opportunities to engage in purposeful and productive learning that caters for their learning needs across Stages 4 (Years 7 & 8) Stage 5 (Years 9 & 10) and Stage 6 (Years 11 & 12) . The College has a focus on a differentiated curriculum. Teaching and learning strategies are designed to be flexible and to promote academic rigour.

Please also refer to our Newman Gifted & Talented Program and the STEM – IDEAS course in Stage 4.

Class Groupings in Stage 4 & 5

The College offers 6 core classes in Years 7 to 10 with high ability and mixed ability classes.

Class groupings are flexible, and some students move across groups.  Class groupings are based on the evidence gathered over a period of time and a process of consultation with class teachers and coordinators.

Curriculum Offerings

Stage 4 (Years 7 & 8)

The Stage 4 Curriculum provides a balance that recognises the importance of the transition between primary and secondary education. It complies with the mandated courses set by the NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA).

In Year 7 and 8 students study elements of Science, TAS and Mathematics in an innovative course called IDEAS. More information on the this course can be found on the Programs page of the website.

Year 7 Year 8
Religious Education Religious Education
English English
Georgraphy Geography
History IDEAS
IDEAS Languages
Mathematics Mathematics
Music Music
Personal Development, Health and Physical Education (PDHPE) Personal Development, Health and Physical Education (PDHPE)
Technology (Mandatory) Technology (Mandatory)
Science Science
Visual Arts Visual Arts


Stage 5 (Years 9 & 10)

The Stage 5 Curriculum more broadly introduces the concept of core and elective courses. Students further develop their decision-making skills by choosing to study elective courses they are keen to learn based upon their ability and interests.

Core subjects include:

Religious Education History Mathematics 5.1 / 5.2
English Mathematics 5.3 Personal Development, Health and Physical Education (PDHPE)
Geography Mathematics 5.2 Science


Elective Subjects include:

Big History Project Food Technology Photographic and Digital Media
Commerce History Elective Textiles Technology
Dance Music Visual Arts
Design and Technology Musical Theatre
Drama Physical Activity and Sports Studies (PASS)


Stage 6 (Years 11 & 12)

Stage 6 is divided into two parts. The Preliminary Course includes the first three terms of Year 11. The HSC Course includes Term 4 of Year 11 and the three terms of Year 12. English and Studies of Religion 1or 2 are mandatory. Electives include:

Studies of Religion I & II Exploring Early Childhood
Catholic Studies Food Technology
Ancient History VET – Hospitality
Business Studies Italian Beginners/Italian Continuers
Biology Legal Studies
VET – Business Services Mathematics
Ceramics (1unit) Mathematics Extension 1
Chemistry Mathematics General
Community and Family Studies Modern History
Dance Music 1
Design and Technology Music 2
Drama Personal Development, Health and Physical Education
Economics Photography, Video and Digital Imaging
(1 Unit)
English Advanced Physics
English Extension 1 Society and Culture
English Standard Sport, Lifestyle and Recreation
English Studies Textiles and Design
VET – Entertainment Visual Arts